The Man from U.N.C.L.E – Movie Review

It’s been a long time since I become satisfied after watching a movie. But, this happened recently with the movie The Man from U.N.C.L.E. I can’t get enough with this movie and I want more. Maybe because it’s a remake from a TV series so the ending is an open ending.

I didn’t know much about this movie before I and my boyfriend decided to watch it on Friday night. I only have watched a glimpse of the trailer a while ago, and I got a vibe that it’s a spy movie like James Bond. I didn’t expect much from this movie, but between The Man from U.N.C.L.E and Hitman 47, a spy movie and a killer movie, it’s obvious for me that The Man from U.N.C.L.E wins.

After buying tickets, I did a little research (yes  after, not before haha) and I found out that Hitman 47 only get 9% from Rotten Tomatoes. Fiuhh, we made a good decision. Moreover, The Man from U.N.C.L.E had Henry Cavill (the Superman!!) and the cute Armie Hammer.

chkgr8auiaae_op

Henry Cavill plays CIA agent Napoleon Solo and Armie Hammer plays KGB agent Ilya Kuryakin. At the beginning of the movie they are enemies who try to kill each other. Then the table’s turned, their bosses in CIA and KGB assigned them to cooperate to prevent a company from making an atomic bomb. It’s funny how they struggle not to kill each other since they are a team now.

I love their duet as partners. Napoleon Solo is a charming, cheerful man (later found out to be a womanizer too) reminds me of Pierce Brosnan’s James Bond. While Ilya Kuryakin is a stiff, cold, man with anger issues. Both have plus and minus and they magically create a perfect team.

A spy movie will not complete without a pretty girl, right? Here comes Alicia Vikander, plays Gaby, East German girl, a mechanic, a nuclear professor’s daughter who’s supposed to be protected by those two men. I am not familiar with her work before, but I think her face is similar to Penelope Cruz. I can’t stop thinking about Penelope Cruz everytime I see her. :p

There are several aspects of this movie that I like.

Languages. There are several different languages German, Russian, and Italian. Combination of different languages is interesting for me because they add dynamics to the movie. Watching the movie stimulates me to learn those languages.

Comedy. The movie maker inserts comedy in several scenes. A smart comedy, as I call it, because it’s nothing like skeptical comedy. I personally don’t like skeptical comedy, so I find smart comedy like this is refreshing.

Cinematography. I know nothing about cinematography, of course. But, as a commoner, I recognize good cinematography in this movie. I think the director, Guy Ritchie, is good, after I watch the movie. There are reverse chronology too, but it’s easy to understand.

Romance. Yeah, I’m a fan of romantic comedy, so a little romance in the movie excites me. The romance between Kuryakin and Gaby is still vague, but it’s there. I wish them to be together, but it’s not happen in the movie.

Fashion. I wasn’t sure about the timeline, but after I saw the fashion, I’m pretty certain that it’s the 60’s. The costumes are well considered. I love the clothes, especially the ones that Gaby wears. Napoleon’s clothes are also well suited. The one that’s not so great is Kuryakin’s. Maybe because his character is cold, so he doesn’t engage in fashion.

Untitled-2e

There is also Hugh Grant in this movie. His charming British accent is a fresh addition to the movie :p

Overall, it’s a fresh summer movie suited for younger audiences. It’s not as serious as another spy movie.

Leave a Reply

